Thursday, June 7, 2012

I Didn't Meet Karen Kingsbury Giveaway

...but I got an advance copy of her book, "The Bridge," that will be published in October and it's AUTOGRAPHED. I was at the Simon and Schuster booth and saw a small pile of books on the floor next to one of the booths where authors sign books. I noted the title and the staff person said they were giveaways. Karen had signed yesterday. I was disappointed to have missed meeting her, but happy to have the book. When I got home and opened it I saw the signature, "Love, Karen Kingsbury." The Karen Kingsbury is not very clear, but love is very clear.

Nothing will make me happier than to do a giveaway for this special copy. I've had the most fun three days and I want to share this terrific time and fun reading with the good citizens of Buttercupland. This is the first in what will be at least three book giveaways over the summer. Please leave a comment about a favorite book and please be a citizen of Buttercupland, too. There is also a small surprise runner-up giveaway. This giveaway closes Sunday, July 1 and I will announce the winners on Monday, July 2.

Today was an equally fun day. I met a number of authors -- all of whose work was unfamiliar to me -- but I am so glad for the discoveries. I think I've got some great reading ahead.

This charming author is Susan Elia MacNeal. I am a fan of mysteries and I think with Susan's book I've got a find. Her books take place in Wartime England and I've got some catching up to do. Due out in October is "Princess Elizabeth's Spy," and her character, Maggie Hope, is dispatched to Windsor Castle to tutor then Princess Elizabeth. What a great read for Jubilee time!


I had a great chat with Victor LaValle, whose creepy terrific novel, "The Devil in Silver" is due out in August.   I don't usually read scary books, but the first few pages -- I've been flipping through all my new books -- caught me and that it takes place in Queens, where I've worked for the last seven years, is added fun. This is a great gift book for your friends who like a good scare in their literary life.

Another great gift idea is James Dashner's "The Kill Order." Teens can be so tough to choose books for, but his series look great for fans of "The Hunger Games" and "Divergent."

My last moment of being a star-struck fan was seeing E.B. Lewis, Caldecott Honor awardee and fabulous illustrator. Yes, I am in awe of illustrators, whose talent gives life to some of my favorite books. 
A big, big thanks to the many publishing folks who made this a very special time. People were unfailingly patient, fun and friendly. This reader and blogger is very grateful!


It's tough to come back to real life after my wonderful week. I go back to work tomorrow for a day and then I am officially on medical leave, with my surgery scheduled for next Wednesday. I am going to rest, blog and read.  

Happy Reading!

25 comments:

Theresa said...

Oh my goodness, you are having an awesome week! I love seeing all of these famous writers! Have a blessed weekend, I'll be praying for you as you go thru your surgery and recovery! BIG HUGS!

Nellie said...

What an amazing three days you have had! I would have loved to be there, too. As a former elementary teacher, I would have interest in seeing if I could find some children's authors. Jan Brett is a favorite.
Sending {{hugs}} along to you for your surgery/recovery. Those books will be put to good use, I am sure.

Betty Rubble said...

The Queen Elizabeth sounds like a great read! I hope to instill in Isaac a love of readign for sure...of course he already has Tugga Tugga Tugboat memorized :)

I'm mostly known as 'MA' said...

Id say you have had a wonderful week. Rest up well for that surgery ahead of you.

Brenda said...

I love reading anything by Karen Kingsbury. I have so enjoyed her series on the Baxter's.
What a great time you had meeting all thee authors. All the books seem great.

TARYTERRE said...

You've been living in the world of books. How can you leave? I would stay forever if I could. Sounds like you have found some interesting NEW authors. I will check them out, though I do not read scary stories either. WHAT a marvelous giveaway. That's so sweet of you. Have never read anything by Karen Kingsbury. Will look her up too. TAKE CARE.

Sharon said...

Next year, I am totally coming to NYC to go to this with you! WOW!

And I love Karen Kingsbury. My mother is the church librarian at the church in which I grew up. She and I always read Karen's latest books before she officially puts them on the shelves of her library. How I'd LOVE to be able to give her an autographed copy of one of Karen's books. Hope I win the giveaway!!

I'd been meaning to ask about your surgery as I realized it must be coming up soon. You will be in my prayers and hope there will be a way to update us once you are successfully out of surgery and resting.

Sr. Ann Marie said...

I'm actually reading one of Karen Kingsbury's books now--Like Dandelion Dust. I also read Ocean's Apart which I enjoyed very much. One of the women who works at our retirement residence introduced to Karen's books when I was there recuperating. Know that you will be in my prayers when you have surgery.

Ms Sparrow said...

To rest, blog and read sounds like the perfect schedule!

Marianna said...

My all time favorite book is Stiff by Mary Roach
mannasweeps (at) gmail DOT com

Diane52 said...

Wow-surrounded by authors , does it get any better than that ?
Please rest-
Diane Baum
esldiane@gmail.com

Diane52 said...

Wow-surrounded by authors , does it get any better than that ?
Please rest-
Diane Baum
esldiane@gmail.com

Pat said...

I so enjoyed hearing about your weekend and seeing the pictures!
pkildow at gmail dot com

Valerie Taylor Mabrey said...

Wow sounds like you had a great time! Thanks for the awesome giveaway! Hope your surgery goes well! My favorite book of all time would have to be "Tuesday's with Morrie". Thanks again

Erin Cook said...

That sounds like a great time. I would love to see writers and get their info on being published. My favorite books are the Twilight books by Stephanie Myer. I am a citizen now too.

cookster77@aol.com

Jim said...

i follow via GFC and my favorite books are the Hitchhiker guide to the galaxy books

jim.coyne2@verizon.net

clynsg said...

Follow via GFC, and I am an avid reader. I just finished The Proposal by Mary Balogh and The Secret History of the Pink Carnation by Lauren Willig. Balogh is a long time favorite, but this is the first I have read by Willig.

cgclynsg0 @ gmail dot com

saturdaynightfever said...

I am enjoying the work of author Mark Merlis recently.

edgenemmers@gmail.com

Gianna said...

Thanks for the giveaway!

Trisha McKee said...

I have never read anything but Kingsbury- would love to though. I love Ann Tyler books and Anita Shreve.

tridingermckee@gmail.com

Jessica said...

That looked like so much fun! I love Nora Roberts and Iris Johansen!!

jessicaahays at hotmail dot com

Renee G said...

Follow as Renee G on gfc.
I am enjoying re-reading Deborah Harkness' A Discovery of Witches in anticipation of upcoming release of Shadow on Night.
rsgrandinetti@yahoo(DOT)com

daveshir2005 said...

You had a very fun time it looks like. Wish I could 've too.

email/ daveshir2005@yahoo.com

peppersalt said...

I read Nora Robert's books.

Timshaun said...

Gfc follower
I love James Patterson's books.